SmartScarecrow

just another guy with straw for brains …

20120228 – Ron Paul speaking near me!

Ron Paul in Springfield Virginia

Presidential candidate Ron Paul will be at Waterford at Springfield, Waterford Ballroom, 6715 Commerce Street, Springfield, VA on Tuesday, February 28th at 6:30 p.m. Eastern.

Edititorial

Anyone who follows this blog or watches my weekly news rant on JTV probably knows that in the upcoming election of POTUS I support a certain old geezer from Texas named Ron Paul.  Just happens I think he is the best man for the job that is running and do what little I can to help him get the job.

I am on a number of mailing lists related to my support of Ron Paul and noted with some interest that the man would be doing a speaking engagement very near where I live.  Assuming it would be the usual political fund raiser, I grabbed my wife and my check book and set out to attend.  I was a bit concerned that the turn out might be light and wanted to make sure my wife and I were there to add ourselves to the numbers just in case anyone in the news media might be watching.

Well, turns out we could not get anywhere near the place.  The parking lot for the Waterford Convention Center near where I live can easily handle 2000 cars, maybe more.  The crowd that turned out to hear Ron Paul speak was nothing short of overwhelming.  We could not get anywhere near the Waterford but noted a fellow holding a sign that said overflow parking was available at the Hilton.  We could not get into the parking lot at the Hilton either. 

The street was lined with people on foot who had hiked from Springfield Mall, maybe a mile away from the Waterford.  There had to be at least 5000 people standing in line waiting to get into the convention center.  As it looked like our added numbers would be but a drop in a bucket that appeared to be about to overflow, we gave up and went out to dinner instead.

Will be watching to see how this is reported on the news.  There were at least 4 satellite trucks parked in back of the convention center so I know for a fact the media was there.  I have not seen any of the other republican candidates draw anywhere near this number of people.  Will be very interesting to see how the media spins this one!

One response to “20120228 – Ron Paul speaking near me!

  1. Z 2012/03/01 at 02:00

    The media spin will be no spin. In fact, total silence. It is US who need to make the noise!

Leave a Reply

